All NorCal - 1977

All Nor-Cal History


THE 1977 ALL NORTHERN CALIFORNIA CROSS COUNTRY TEAM FIRST TEAM: (listed alphabetically) 2.0 3.0 Sec Reg Lg Postal Postal Invites Avila, Dave Cupertino Jr 2 2 1 9:20 2-2-5-2 Berry, Rod Redwood Sr 2 2 3 Brewer, Paul Leigh Sr 5 7 1 1-1 Conover, Mark Miramonte 5 2 1 1 Coulman, Dave San Marin Sr 1 1 1 1-1-1 Dean, Glenn Jefferson Sr 7 1 1 9:32.0 15:07.0 3-5 Downs, Peter Skyline Jr -- -- 3 6 Downs, Tom Skyline Jr -- -- 1 2-1 Gruber, Tim Aptos Sr 4 1 1 1-4 Hochhaus Craig Clayton Valley Sr 3 3 1 14:46.8 15-9 Holladay, Ken Gilroy Sr 10 1 9:19.0 1-2 Love, Bob Carlmont Sr 1 1 1 9:22.0 13-1-1-5-6 Millar, Brian McAteer Sr -- -- 1 7 Moreno, Armand Piner Sr 6 3 1 9:22.1 8-7-2-2-6 Otis, Chris Mira Loma 1 1 1 6 Radican, Dave Mira Loma 2 3 2 9 Romiguiere, Ken Castro Valley Sr 4 2 1 Soto, Felix Mt Peasant So 3 3 2 9:25.2 8-3 Strangio, Steve Mission SJ Jr 8 3 1 9:19.5 14:44.0 3-2-2-1 Turner, Frank Colfax 1 Valdez, Greg Skyline Sr -- -- 2 7 Wentworth, Rob Livermore 9 1 1 NORTHERN CALIFORNIA RUNNER OF THE YEAR David Coulman (San Marin) Outstanding SENIOR David Coulman (San Marin) Outstanding JUNIOR Tom Downs (Skyline) Outstanding SOPHOMORE Felix Soto (Mt Pleasant) Outstanding FRESHMAN Angel Vasquez (Watsonville) HONORABLE MENTION: Trujillo Gilroy Dickenson Bella Vista Marden Mission SJ Mass S Tahoe O'Connor Carlmont Kading Mira Loma Knott Leland Baker Stagg Castro Logan Chastaine Mission SJ O'Reilly San Rafael Ruffing Mission SJ Nickell Leigh Bake San Ramon Powers Willow Glen Gardner Redwood Bewley Capuchino Mojica Overfelt Sapp Fremont Martinez Newark Maldonado McClatchy Williams Arcata Schmidt Anderson Read Mission SJ Saledina Riverbank Tiernan Mira Loma Vasquez Watsonville Traynor Clayton Valley Royal Petaluma Shultz Cordova Swan Lincoln Hale Stagg Jenkins Leigh Morton Los Gatos Van Buskirk PH Hernandez Lincoln Judson Piner Herandez Independence Brock Redwood Bergkamp Leigh Noonan Montgomery Dean, Gil Jefferson Balli Petaluma Leinninger Live Oak Scannell O'Dowd Smith Awalt Molina DeLaSalle McCarty St Francis Munoz Stagg Rockford Serra Little Jesuit Silva Yuba City Christenson Seaside Gonzales Lincoln, SJ Szekepesh Cordova Pinn Jesuit Allen Beyer Sullivan St Francis Zehdner Elk Grove Piniero S Tahoe Pringle Gunn Shoemaker Mira Loma Hugens Robert Lewis Grimes Watsonville Jones Menlo Dalke Leland Foran Mira Loma Rembao Santa Cruz Clarke Cordova Mellquist Carlmont Grames Piner Gines Overfelt Dietler Foothill Hart Cordova Ifland Soquel Abihiden Leland Johnson Saratoga Torres Mt Pleasant Sato Watsonville Pryor Carlmont Pringle Gunn McClure St Francis Barraza Watsonville Mackey Davis Hartman Milpitas Sanchez Sunnyvale Allsop Piner Hoch Menlo-Atherton Hannewalt St Ignatius Wimmer Menlo Nichols Hollister Chandler Clovis Foster Jesuit Sims Palma Espinosa McClatchy Youkers Armijo Parkhurst Dixon Acosta Hollister Davies Menlo-Atherton Gama Tennyson Marson Mills Sequiros Watsonville Martinez Elk Grove Will Enc Zehnder Elk Grove Bird Brothers Lopez Davis Powell Ponderosa Pugh Highlands Woodford Sonora English Piedmont Vavuris Cubberley Hogan Peterson Evans Gunn Olivas Half Moon Bay Sawret Half Moon Bay Schmidt Half Moon Bay Williams Chico Jacobs Serra Baffert San Ramon McDonald Camden Westwood Homestead Demo Homestead Kadock Lick Malloy San Ramon Flory Blackford Harb Castro Valley Luiz Exeter Packer Gunn Kinzy Homestead Oakden Bella Vista Peterson Fairfield Leeds Alameda Zapata Selma Sargeson DeLaSalle Dicks Soquel Howard St Joseph's Loyd Livermore Fenn Alameda Watson Ponderosa Rasmussen Ponderosa Graf Miramonte Kallander Las Lomas Field Berkeley Bratsberg Ft Bragg The All Northern California Cross Country Team is sponsored annually by the Northern California Track & Field Association and by Citizens Savings. Awards will be given to first team members (scrolls & 'T' shirts). The first All Northern California team to be selected was back in 1962. Unofficial selections have been made retroactive to 1953. The selection committee for the 1977 team was composed of: Pato Yanicks (M-A), Chairman; Ken Thomas (Soquel); Terry Ward (St Ignatius); Bill Thompson (Alameda); Bob Woods (Camden); Keith Conning (NorCal Running Review). The major criteria for selecting the team were: place in section, region and league meets. Postal times, invitational results, place in head-to-head competition helped to influence the final voting. The area represented by the 1977 team included consideration of athletes from six sections of the CIF: North, North Coast, Central Coast, San Joaquin, SF & Oakland. The geographical boundaries of these sections went as far as the Oregon border (North) to Merced (South). COMMENTS: There were five repeaters from last year's first team selections: (Berry, Brewer, Holladay, Love, and Strangio). In general it was a down year for cross-country in the Bay Area and parts of Northern California. No truly dominant individual graces this year's team, although Dave Coulman had an undefeated year and was selected as our "Runner of the Year". Skyline HS placed 3 athletes on the first team, something that hasn't been done for years. Skyline HS proved to be the best H.S. team in Northern California when they beat Mission SJ in a classic meet earlier in the season. There were no Second Team selections.


THE 1977 ALL NORTHERN CALIFORNIA GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY TEAM FIRST TEAM: (listed alphabetically) Sec Reg Lg Invites Bain, Karen Rio American 4 2 4 2-4 Bitz, Debbie Irvington 4 4 1 7 Bubanja, Diana Piedmont 9 1 1 1-1 Choy, Tiffany Salinas 4 3 1 4-1-5-5 Crisp, Laurie Downey 1 1 1 2-1 Crowley, Irene Overfelt 1 1 1 1-1-2 Daley, Arlene Granada 1 1 1t 4-4 Dennison, Stacy El Camino (Sac) 2 1 1 2 Hayes, Julie Dublin 6 2 3 3-1-1 Huyck, Nancy Aptos 3 1 2-2-1-2-2 Kenny, Dian Novato 2 1 2 2 Negri, Francie Foothill 5 1 3-2-8 Nieto, Shelly Merced 3 2 2 3-2-5 Richter, Suzanne Chico 1 1 2-3-3-1 Scannell, Colleen O'Dowd 4 2 2 13-7-1 Schmidt, Becky Half Moon Bay 5 1 4-1-6-3 Schnupfeil, Kim San Mateo 6 2 2 Selchau, Julie Chico 3 2 4-6-3 Shanks, Brenda Quincy 2 1-3 Symons, Jill Chico 4 3 6-2 Trason, Ann Pacific Grove 2 2 1 1-1-1-1 Van Buskirk, Lisa Pleasant Hill 3 3 1 2-12 HONORABLE MENTION: _asse S Tahoe Figliomoni Saratoga Oddone San Martin Roberts Rio American _rince Anderson Chamness La Sierra Pearson San Lorenzo Valley White Miramonte _inn Rio American Warga Ponderosa Burleson Chico Blake Oak Grove Simmons S Tahoe Bettencourt Half Moon Bay Tani Montgomery Palmer Del Oro Nielsen Carlmont _edberg Miramonte Beaushamp Oakmont Harper Prospect Flynn Tamalpais Kuphaldt Bella Vista Fox Homestead Farnsworth Montgomery Smith, Jill Turlock Foianini Carlmont Manning Carondelet Hale Vanden Vaughan San Carlos Sweeny Marin Catholic _r_ Bella Vista Houston Gunn Nayares Downey Gavino Downey Hughes Merced McKeen Cordova Alcorn Del Norte Capurso Gunn Metoxen S Tahoe Seyranian Tamalpais Sanchez Watsonville Holliman Rio American Way Alameda Chavez Cupertino _ehrbaum Amador Valley Redeker Healdsburg Vavuris Cubberley Gaffield El Cerrito _achand Sunset Blevins Campo Lindo Woehrie Head-Royce RUNNER OF THE YEAR Irene Crowley (Overfelt) OUTSTANDING SENIOR Irene Crowley (Overfelt) OUTSTANDING JUNIOR Laurie Crisp (Downey) OUTSTANDING SOPHOMORE Nancy Huyck (Aptos) OUTSTANDING FRESHMAN Stacy Dennison (El Camino) COMMENTS: This team represents the second time that a selection has been made honoring the outsanding girl runners in Northern California. No second team selections were made. Chico dominated the team with an unprecedented 3 selections. The calibur of athlete was such improved over last season, as all the sections have championship participation available for girls. There was a very close battle for the Girl Runner of the Year. Irene Crowley edged Laurie Crisp of Downey at a 2.0 postal meeting in there only head-to-head meeting of the year by the slimmest of margins. That victory was enough to give Irene Crowley the nod for "Runner of the Year" according to team selectors.