State XC History - 1992

A History of the CIF/Reebok State Championships The CIF offers state championships in six different sports; cross country, girls’ volleyball, wrestling, basketball, track and field and golf. Track and field, the longest running state championship, was help for the first time at Fresno High in 1915 and reached the 74th year mark during the 1992 CIF/Reebok State Track and Field Championships. Except for the war years from 1941-45, the track and field championships have been help annually. Early championships were conducted at high schools, YMCA’s, universities and fair sites including: the Sacramento Fair in 1918, the San Bernardino Fair of 1919, the Bakersfield Fair in 1920 and the Stockton Fair in 1922. The 1992 CIF/Reebok State Track and Field Championships marked the fifth consecutive year that Cerritos College, Norwalk was the host site. 1974 featured the first year of girls’ competition in the CIF/Reebok State Track and Field Championships with the setting at Memorial Stadium, Bakersfield. Accomplished athletes in various sports dot the list of California High School competitors in the track and field state championships. Names like Dwight Stones, an Olympic medalist in the high jump, Rafer Johnson, a Gold Medalist in the decathlon, and Sherri Howard, an Olympian in the 4 x 400 highlight the list. Track and field stars from California High schools have gone on to succeed in other sports as well. Lynn Swann from Serra High in San Mateo, James Lofton of Washington, Los Angeles and Dokie Williams of El Camino, Oceanside each made a name for themselves in professional football, and were state champions in the long jump – a feat Swann accomplished on two occasions (1969-70). Henry Ellard, of Hoover Fresno and now with the Los Angeles Rams won the CIF/Reebok State title in the triple jump in 1979. After track and field, the CIF/Reebok State Basketball Championships were established in 1916 and were held until 1928. The first state basketball championship was played between Whittier High and Berkeley High at Wittier High School on March 25, 1916. The final result: Whittier 31-29. In 1989, Glendora High Standout Tracy Murray set a record for most points scored with a phenomenal 64 – more than Berkeley and Whittier combined in the first title tilt. Women’s basketball joined the state championships in 1981 when the championships were renewed for both boys and girls. In its short history, the Girls’ CIF/Reebok State Basketball Championships have experienced tremendous success with names like national record-Holder Cheryl Miller, Lisa Leslie, Tanda Rucker and Kate Paye playing starring roles. Point Loma’s four state championships (1984 Division II; 1985-87 Division I) have also highlighted girl’s competition. Menlo School of Atherton won three straight titles in Division V (1989-91). On the boys’ side, Stockton High dominated early play winning four championships in the 1920’s (1922-23, 1925, 1928). Crenshaw High equaled that dominance in the modern championship, winning four titles in the 1980’s (1983, 1985-86, 1989). Besides Murray, great names like Michael Manning, Jason Kidd, Son Tarver, Ed O’Bannon and Stais Boseman have participated in the state finals. The CIF/Reebok Basketball Championships have come a long way since its beginning at Whittier High in 1916. The 1990 championships marked the first time that all five boys’ and girls’ Division (I, II, III, IV and V) were housed under the same roof – the Oakland Coliseum. Attendance for the two-day championships have eclipsed the 20,000 mark in each of the last three seasons with a record 22,613 at the Arco Arena for the 1992 title games. The CIF/Reebok State Wrestling Championships were established in 1973 and conducted at Cal State Hayward. The University of Pacific’s Spanos Center has been the host site since 1987. Clovis High dominated during the first years of the championship, winning three consecutive CIF/Reebok State Wrestling Championships from 1974-76 and then equaled that with a current three straight 1990-92. Clovis West has won three titles 1983-84, 1989) in the 1980’s. Individual, standouts like Jimmy Aguirre, Tony Okada, Zach Cooper and Trent Barnes have competed in Championships. With the largest participation of any girls’ sport, volleyball has increased its following by leaps and bounds since the first CIF/Reebok State Volleyball Championships in 1978. Highland High, Bakersfield won the first championship, held at Highland High. In 1981, a Division II classification was added to the championships and a year later a Division III classification was included. The CIF/Reebok State Volleyball Championships expanded to a five division format in 1991 and the result was more spectacular action under one roof. The growth of the sport is also evident in terms of revenue. Volleyball has been a self-supporting championship the last three seasons. Four teams have won three titles in their respective divisions, starting with Mira Costa, which went unbeaten enroute to Division I championships in both 1985 and 1990. Rim of the World has three tiles in Divison II, along with La Habra (1989-91). Francis Parker, San Diego has won three titles in Division III. Individual standouts include 1991 tournament sensation and MVP Jaimie Torromeo of St. Joseph Lakewood, 1990 MVP Tracy Schriber of Corona del Mar, 1989 MVP Piper Hahn of Mira Costa, Bev Oden, Katy Eldrige, Zrinka Kristich, Kristal Atwood and Jenny Evans, among others. Traditionally, the last CIF/Reebok Regional Championship completed during the course of the school year, the state Golf Championships were established in 1976 for boys and 1977 for girls and ran until 1981. Since then, regional championships have been conducted. Torrye Pines has dominated in the Southern REgionals with four regional championships, while Vintage of Napa has taken three Nothern Regional titles. Sharon Barrett, Kim Saiki, Jean Zedlitz and Kim Cathrein have excelled on the girls side, while stars on the boys field include Craig Sadler, Joe Rassett, and David Games. The CIF/Reebok Cross Country Championships were the new edition to the state championship fold in 1987 and have been held annually at Woodward Park, Fresno. Byran Dameworth and Deena Drossin, both of Agoura High, have won three and two individual state titles respectively, Jef Wilson of Newbury Park (1990-91) and Kira Jorgensen of Rancho Buena Vista won two consecutive individual state championships (1987-88). Milena Glusac of Fallbrook broke the Girls Division I recored in 1991 with a time of 17:13. Palos Verdes girls’ have dominated the team championship with three consecutive titles (1987-89). Palos Verdes High was closed in 1989 and was combined with Miraleste and Rolling Hills High into Peninsula High. Nine teams have won two CIF/Reebok State Championships including Agoura (Girls Division I), San Pasqual (Girls Division II), Bret Harte (Girls Division III), Maranatha (Girls Division III), Nordhoff Ojai (Girls Division IV), Hart (Boys Division I), Corona del Mar (Boys Division II), San Marino (Boys Division II) and Laguna Beach (Boys Division III). A forth division was added to cross country in 1990.