September 1, 2004     Saratoga, California Since 1955
Photograph by Vicki Thompson
Saratoga's Liz Nast runs alone during a stretch of the Marshall Clark 4-Miler held Aug. 22 in Saratoga. Nast finished 17th overall in the race and was the third female finisher, ending up less than a minute behind her daughter, Katie.
Shaver, Follmar big winners in the Marshall Clark 4-Miler
By Dick Sparrer
The fall cross country season is just about ready to get under way, but some of the areas top competitors were already off and running when they took part in the second annual Marshall Clark 4-Miler on Aug. 22 in Saratoga.

The race, a benefit for the Saratoga and Lynbrook cross country teams, is named for the late Marshall Clark, who returned the track and cross country teams at Saratoga to a level of prominence before his sudden and untimely death in September of 2002.

Many of the area's top high school runners competed against adults in the 4-mile run through the streets of Saratoga.

Hari Subramaniam, who ran for Clark at Saratoga, was the defending champion in the race—running 22:42 to win the first Clark 4-Miler in 2003—and was battling for the lead in the early going.

But Jeff Shaver took over the lead for good at the halfway point of the race and won the event in 21:35, a new course record. Subramaniam was second in 22:07, bettering his 2003 time by 35 seconds.

Rob Nast ran third in 22:58 with Loren Hill fourth in 23:52, Jeff Candello fifth in 23:51, Ken Douglas sixth in 24:11 and Henry Barmeier seventh in 24:18.

Alicia Follmar of Saratoga, the state 1,600 meter champion last spring, was the women's winner and finished eighth overall in 24:20. Katie Nast of Saratoga was the second female finisher, and 15th overall, in 26:37 with her mother, Liz Nast, third (17th overall) in 27:21.

Shaver and Follmar topped the list of age group winners in the run.

Shaver took the men's 40­49 age division with R. Nast second and Hill third, and Follmar was tops in the women's 13­18 class with K. Nast second and Jessica Douglas third in 28:20.

Subramaniam was the men's 13­18 champ with Douglas second, Barmeier third and Scott Surette fourth. Tony Vierra won the men's 30­39 title in 26:31 and Jose Casillas took the men's 50­59 division in 27:24 with Bill Barmeier second and Victor Ragni third.

Amanda Speedy ran 29:47 to win the girls 12 and under division. Heide Biggie won the women's 30­39 crown in 29:30 with Kelly Nicholson second, L. Nast took the women's 40­49 title with Laura Rooke second and Debra Troxell third, and Debbie Follmar was a winner in the women's 50­59 class with Carol Barmeier second.

Copyright © SVCN, LLC.